Picture
I walk down the street using both my legs. Today it seems like they are stirring something, spinning the globe beneath me while my top half sits still in space. I call for someone to come help me, to come out here and move me; but that would draw them into the same trap I have fallen into, so I stop pleading after a few minutes.

The houses look like spots on a cat. They look like complicated fences strategically keeping me out of carpeted rooms where I might steal the warmth drawn from friction in the carpet as if it were the breath of a living thing. The houses also look like private carnivals, or mythological plants in a vast, theoretical garden.

But now that I have decided on a garden, what lies outside of it? Probably actual fences with little gardens growing up the sides of them, with their own private gravity that keeps them held fast while totally sideways. I laugh and toss my keys in the air, catching them. The lonely jingle perishes without echo.

I walk down the street and there are so many houses that I become suspicious. Surely there can't be so many of them. I jog around a corner and take hold of a stop sign with both hands. The sun is so bright, it feels like the only living thing on this Earth. But it is neither of those things, living or here; and in light of the facts I am stricken with acceptance.

Unless I am mistaken, there is another dimension of houses running parallel to the first one. How did they spring up like this, so suddenly, so instantly, right now, as I am seeing them? Could that even possibly be the case?

I look at a sign across the street, pretending I no longer recognize the alphabet. It works for a second, but as the undeniable meaning seeps through the delicate barrier of my imagination I have to return to my reasonings.

Now I know some things, and there are some things I know so well you could say I know them twice. For everything else I must wait until the results are in. And I think I have plenty of things in both categories.

You can see sunlight for the first time in your life every day if you want to. You can find out about the other houses, and then not find out about the other houses. But then, things like Chinese. It is impossible to learn Chinese. It can't be done.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2012

    Categories

    All